A thought it was secure ?

My_Sic

I am testing Sync app since 2 weeks. Except for some bandwith issues in local network, i was really satisfied of the software.

But something strange append tonight. I see a transfert to a anormal ip in the transfert tab : "0.0.0.0:0".

i quickly list the active connection on my OS, and i see a file transfert of my data to an American IP.

It's none of my device. And when i go to that ip, it seem to be a Chinese website hosted in USA.

Clearly not my device.

Do they have brute force all possible key ? Could we have a manual validation for new device to avoid all possible brute force ?

I will no longer execute SyncApp. Don't want my data to be stolen.

I would be more concerned if you were seeing connections from an actual physical unknown IP address/port.

For information on 0.0.0.0:0 please see:

http://en.wikipedia....i/Default_route

I'm no expert, but I would suspect you are seeing "0.0.0.0:0" because SyncApp is unable to connect directly (i.e. across your LAN) to one or more of your other syn'dc devices, and therefore is attempting to "tunnel" either through your firewall, router, gateway, or via BitTorrent's servers (which might explain your American IP connection anomaly) in order to establish a connection to your other devices.

I therefore don't believe that in this particular instance you are being "hacked" or that your data is being stolen by a 3rd party.

That said, I know the SyncApp team are aware of users concerns here on the forum with the current length of "secrets" and how likely they would to "guess"/crack, etc.. and I'm sure they are looking at ways all the time of improving security of SyncApp, which - let's not forget - is still in an early "alpha" phase after all.