Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'read-only'.

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Forums

  • Resilio Sync
    • Sync General Discussion
    • Sync Troubleshooting
    • Sync for NAS (Network Attached Storage)
    • Sync Stories
    • Developers
    • Feature Requests

Find results in...

Find results that contain...


Date Created

  • Start

    End


Last Updated

  • Start

    End


Filter by number of...

Joined

  • Start

    End


Group


AIM


MSN


Website URL


ICQ


Yahoo


Jabber


Skype


Location


Interests

Found 8 results

  1. Hi, I'm a huge fan of RS and have been using the PRO version for a while now. Thanks for a great product. After doing a factory reset on my phone I'm setting up my RS folders again but I've read the help and forums but can't find an answer to the following situation I'm in. Situation: I have a Sync folder containing the iTunes music on my Macbook and I had used a selective-sync read-only key folder on my Android to pull many GB of files that I wanted on my external SD card. I was hoping that when I setup the selective-sync folder again on my Android that RS would recognize the many GB of
  2. Is there any way restrict a device's permissions to "Read Only"? I have multiple devices connected to the same Pro license account, most of which are set to "Selective Sync". From what I've seen online, you can set another user to read-only when sharing a folder, but I haven't found a way to do this for your own devices. I recently ran into an incident where a placeholder file was accidentally deleted from one of my devices, and so the actual file was deleted across all devices. Luckily nothing of value was lost, but I would like to avoid accidents like this in the future.
  3. I followed the instructions here: http://help.getsync.com/hc/en-us/articles/206216565-How-to-create-a-Read-Only-folder-while-syncing-across-linked-devices- to get my backup folder to receive and store updated or new files from my source folder on my home computer when I create them. I assume that the crossed-out pencil indicates the folder is read-only? However the log is showing that my home computer is saying 'Greg's iMac' (the source) added file xxxxx. Does this mean it is adding files from my backup drive to Greg's iMac or the other way round? There's also
  4. I have been using BTSync for a while and still have some old folders from the v1.2/v1.4 beta time (or whatever the version was in the beginning) in case this could be relevant or help troubleshooting my issue. I never noticed any problems with my folders, but since I recently linked my devices and connected a couple of folders (now using v2.3), some inconsistencies became apparent. A couple of folders (most likely the oldest ones) only seem to only have a single "READ-ONLY" key when looking into the "Preferences > View Key" section of BTSync. However, when hovering over them with the mo
  5. Hi, I use BitTorrent Sync to sync data between two OS X devices. On both devices I have read-only files (from initial data copy before started with sync). When i delete a read-only file after a few seconds the file is recreated. Probably because the read-only file on the other device cannot be deleted by sync. How can I handle read-only files BitTorrent Sync?
  6. Server A has main repository. Server B has read only copy of Server A's repository. (Both are v2 but using v1.4 classic for read-only option) Other users in Server B's location mess with files in Server B's read only repository, including duplicating files, deleting files, renaming files, and adding more files into the folder. At what point does btsync undo their changes and take a current snapshot of Server A's repository and force Server B to match it again? Thanks!
  7. Hi there We are using BitTorrentSync (paid version) at our company to share synchronisation files with our clients. The client machines have only the free version of BitTorrentSync, as they don't need more than the maximum of 10 folders. My question: is it possible to hide the peer list on a client which shares a read-only folder with the server? Our setup is such that each client has their own shared folder, but then we also have a global folder which is shared with all clients. We obviously don't want clients to be able to see information of other clients' computers in the peer list. How
  8. Hello, It seems that Bittorrent Sync always tries to open files on file system with read-write access, or at least checks if read-write access is possible. If there are files which Sync process doesn't have a permissions to write to, then these files are not transferred to other devices. I can understand that write permission is needed to update a file from other peers if it is changed on that peers, but what if all other shares used only read-only key, would it still be needed? Would it be possible to add such a feature to create a share with possibility to expose only a read-only key,