preserve file ownership on sync

crdb

Hello,

I've started deploying btsync on linux for an LAN only replication project.

I noted that all files synchronized get the ownership of the user running btsync.

Is there a way - i guess it would require code change - to get file ownerships preserved upon replication?

Thanks,

I can understand that... but even keeping ACLs on windows is important - Goes with the whole attib/owner/acl whish.

As you provide binaries for different platforms, why not support *platform way of doing things*, like indeed you'd lose informations while syncing between platforms but keep them while on the same one.

We plan to do this, but not there yet. Consider this case, you share a file with a friend, we won't be able to give the ownership user name to the file, even if both platforms are Linux.

I do see your issue, possibly storing the data else where in a 'meta-data' part of bit sync? Not part of the file itself?

That's my best bet, I'm not too good with ideas... or linux.

To get over that limiation, a simple way to do that would be a feature that enables to set the desired user/group for a share in the configuration file ?

This would also enable the ability to sync different folder for different users and keeping some sort of acl ...

This also would be an acceptable work-around, I'm currently having to run BTSync as some obscure user who has a really weird configuration (To allow it access to my local files, but, also allow it's files to be read by anyone but only executed and written to by others/etc) on my laptop so that all users can access the files.