Sync External Drive

ncompass

Thank you for the reply... because I am new to all this... pointers on how to do this would be really helpful.

Unless I'm not gathering what you're asking, it's simple as syncing to any other folder, here's a photo of my syncing to my 2nd hard-drive:-

MdsZsQY.png

Offtopic:- reason it's called "ABC" is because apparently whenever I tried to use no-name for my partition the program I was using to format it returned "Please enter a name", so, I just put anything in.

Just select the external drive in the dropdown. I presume I must be missing something, because, it's not a very hard question (Just select where you want it downloaded).

I think the question may be; is it possible to sync a folder on an internal drive to a folder on an external drive connected to the SAME computer? - in which case, no you can't sync a folder from one location to another location on the same computer

I think the question may be; is it possible to sync a folder on an internal drive to a folder on an external drive connected to the SAME computer? - in which case, no you can't sync a folder from one location to another location on the same computer

Oohh, in that case, no, you can't do that. However, I guess you could do something with rsync and inotify to do it?

Yes that is what I was trying to do. I like to sync to an external ( USB) drive on the same PC, then Sync to a remote too. The sync to remote takes a long time, whereas the Sync to USB connected HHD would be very fast.

I guess I can use another network PC as the "Host" for the USB HDD and then at least I would have 1 gig transfer.

Few if any cloud services can sync to a external HDD, this has been an issue for a long time... I was hoping BTSync would do it... the main issue is you can't get the required software to 'install' on the external HDD. (Think usb plug in drive or similar).