nectar

Read-only client overwrote a file!

Recommended Posts

Hi,

I have two machines each with a collection of about 124GB of media. They were previously in sync using “rsync”. One machine (let’s call it the backup) was about a week out of date relative to the other machine (let’s call it the master).

I set up Bittorrent Sync on the master, and let it completely index (this took a really long time). Then I used a one-time read-only key to set up the backup. Almost immediately I received a notification on the master that a file upload was completed. Checking history on the master, I saw:

4/25/13 2:39PM Finished syncing file 2013/2013-04/2013-04-21/JV20130421_24375_DSC_0447.xmp added by backup

4/25/13 2:39PM backup added file 2013/2013-04/2013-04-21/JV20130421_24375_DSC_0447.xmp

Sure enough, the master now had a week out-of-date version of this file! I stopped the sync immediately.

I double-checked the backup to ensure that it was read-only. In the “Advanced” tab for the folder on backup, it reads “Advanced Preferences are not available with read only secret”.

This seems like a pretty serious flaw. How can I debug where things went wrong?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi,

I have two machines each with a collection of about 124GB of media. They were previously in sync using “rsync”. One machine (let’s call it the backup) was about a week out of date relative to the other machine (let’s call it the master).

I set up Bittorrent Sync on the master, and let it completely index (this took a really long time). Then I used a one-time read-only key to set up the backup. Almost immediately I received a notification on the master that a file upload was completed. Checking history on the master, I saw:

4/25/13 2:39PM Finished syncing file 2013/2013-04/2013-04-21/JV20130421_24375_DSC_0447.xmp added by backup

4/25/13 2:39PM backup added file 2013/2013-04/2013-04-21/JV20130421_24375_DSC_0447.xmp

Sure enough, the master now had a week out-of-date version of this file! I stopped the sync immediately.

I double-checked the backup to ensure that it was read-only. In the “Advanced” tab for the folder on backup, it reads “Advanced Preferences are not available with read only secret”.

This seems like a pretty serious flaw. How can I debug where things went wrong?

i hope your file wasn't deleted permanently, I'm gonna try it out.

and make sure time is correct on both.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the pointer, GreatMarko.

Of course, I unfortunately cannot seem to reproduce the issue so far.

Typical! - That's always the way, isn't it!? ;) Well, if you do encounter your issue again, be sure to report back!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.