Recommended Posts

When I delete files (photos) on my Android folder that are backed up with BTsync, the same files (photos) also get deleted on my computer. I think that they should stay there since this feature is called "backup" not "sync".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest idef1x

so far deleting files from my pc doesn't seem to do anything with those files on my android phone. when deleting files from my android it takes a while before they are deleted on my pc. when I restarted btsync on my android they were deleted right away. so does anyone know what the refresh interval is for backup? it's not as instanious as syncing apparently

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

+1 it would be really nice if I could make a read-only key from my phone, so when images sync to my computer, they won't get deleted when I free up space by deleting them off my phone. Right now it doesn't seem like there is any difference between "backup" and "sync" at the moment!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

100% agree. I was under the assumption that "BACKUP" meant what it does in every other form of data management and should especially be true when moving data from a mobile device to a computer. I had scheduled system images of my phone OS to be backed up to my server every sunday night. Each one is ~2GB so after a few I need to clean house on the phone's storage.  I just realized when going to restore a backup that it had SYNC'd my changes and deleted the files on my server.

 

Luckily I accidentally left the archive function on for that folder and was able to pull the files from that, but this is a VERY strange relationship they have created, especially when they are pushing the concept of backing up photos using this method

 

Any thoughts BT? Am I misunderstanding this function?  Is this an known issue?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi!

This is a current implementation of Backup functionality. You can find deleted files in .SyncArchive folder on your PC if it's enabled in the shared folder preferences. We are planning to improve this behaviour in the future versions. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.