Dangerous .SyncIgnore inclusion of Icon? on Mac

raveur

This is my first time syncing. I had 20GB, 250K files.

I compared the two directories after syncing and I noticed that my Icons directories were not being synced.

It took me a while to figure it out that this is due to .SyncIgnore including Icon? by default on OS X.

I assume that this is to exclude the special file Icon\r on Mac (http://superuser.com...on-os-x-desktop).

This is obviously too dangerous, as Icons is a perfectly innocent and common folder name and such files/folders are skipped silently.

Until the \r character can be specified in SyncIgnore, it would be best to completely leave out that Icon? line from .SyncIgnore

I wouldn't say this is particularly "dangerous" in any way, just an inconvenience for you!

The default .SyncIgnore files do contain a number of rules to exclude certain files/folders by default, however, you may freely modify these files to suit your own particular needs!

What should/shouldn't be included by default in these .SyncIgnore files is something that is being discussed by the team, so your particular usage case will be considered, but as I say, this is not in any way "dangerous", and can easily be changed by simply removing the "Icon?" line from your .SyncIgnore files

I wouldn't say this is particularly "dangerous" in any way, just an inconvenience for you!

Sure, inconvenient for me.

But dangerous to the many users out there who are or will be using btsync, don't know anything about .SyncIgnore, and won't bother to do a directory comparison to realize what I realized: that their Icons folders are not being synced. I fear for others, not myself.

• 1 month later...