C#/.NET implementation of API on Bitbucket

delegatevoid

Hi,

For those who are interested, I just published a C# implementation of the API on Bitbucket.

It's an early draft and the tests need some restructuring, will do that asap.

If anybody is interesting in helping, you know what to do.

The repository can be found here:

https://bitbucket.org/timothyp/arendee-btsynclib

• 8 months later...
  • 3 weeks later...

Dear Delegatevoid,

as I'm new to OOP programming, and since your (excellent) implementation relies heavily on it's concepts, I'd like to clarify an issue I'm having.

I have developed an application which:

1 - starts an instance of Btsync.exe with the supplied config file using Process.Start()

2 - creates a folder C:\test

3 - makes use of the AddFolder method to have that folder synced (a read-only key is provided with my application)

4 - closes itself (btsync will remain running)

The problem is, my program won't accomplish step 3 unless I give it some time before the program closes (either using Console.Read() or Thread.Sleep() ). I do believe this is caused by the method being asynchronous. Is it correct? What can I do about this, other than pausing the execution for a little while before the program exits?

Anyone else please feel free to help me on this as well. Thanks!

Answer

I was using

static async void AddFolderToSync()

and calling that method under the Main method of my console app. Now I've switched to

static async Task AddFolderToSync()

and it's called like this

AddFolderToSync().Wait()

and my problem is solved. :D

Reference: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/3840795/console-app-terminating-before-async-call-completion

Hi,

You are correct to say that the methods in the library are all asynchronous.

By default this means fire and forget. You start a Task which gets executed somewhere else

and your applications imply continues to execute whatever line of code follows.