Android Photo Sync

ammar577

Hi all,

im very new to bittorrent sync, can someone please explain to me how i can sync photos from my camera folder to my computer one way only so i can delete them from my phone? my phone memory gets full quick and i would like to replace dropbox with bittorrent sync since its more convenient and seems reliable,

Regards,

Ammar 

You can simply add the "DCIM" Folder to BTSync, an share the folder to your computer by selecting a Folder and entering the same secret (Other way around is much easier: Create a new Folder on your Computer, click "Connect mobile", on your phone scan the QR-Code, select your DCIM Folder).

Your photos will be synced between your Smartphone and your Computer, so when you delete them (or move them) on your computer they'll be deleted on your smartphone.

Just works with Read/Write Secret.

Dear ammar577,

Currently there's no built in function in BTSync to do what you describe. It would be very nice to have a built in photo sync feature to match Dropbox's. Perhaps it's already on BitTorrent's TODO list? :)

Meanwhile, you can try the following method:

1. 1. Assume you've already set up BitTorrent Sync on your Android phone and computer
  2. 2. When your phone's memory is almost full, open BitTorrent Sync Android app and delete the sync folder (Note: this action will not delete any photos on the phone or the computer)
  3. 3. Delete all photos on your phone to free up memory
  4. 4. Create a new, empty Sync Folder on your computer. Call it "Photos2"
  5. 5. Add the new "Photos2" folder to the Android app - Choose the same photos folder as the originla sync folder (the one you deleted in Step 2)
  6. 6. Now, all your old photos are preserved on your computers, and new photos will continue to sync to "Photos2"
  7. 7. Repeat the above steps when memory is running out