Bittorrent Sync 1.3


RomanZ

Recommended Posts

  • Replies 113
  • Created
  • Last Reply

About having two shared folders with the same name:

 

I don't think it's the best idea to add an option like 'View > Show full paths' or similar. It should do the right thing automatically.

 

Proposal:

 

Stick with the new foldername-only display, but automatically switch to full path display if two shares have the same name.

 

Example:

  • { /home/John/shared_pictures, /home/Jane/shared_docs } displays as
    • shared_pictures
    • shared_docs
  • { /home/John/shared, /home/Jane/shared } displays as (for example)
    • 'shared' in /home/John
    • 'shared' in /home/Jane

What do you think? :)

Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the new release, however for me personally the new user interface is a showstopper. I have serveral sync folders that all end with the same name. In the previous versions the full path was displayed and that was enough information for me. However with the new UI i cannot distinguish the folders without hovering over the devices this is problametic when 30ish devices are connected and some of the devices connect to multiple shared folders.

 

As a side note, the tooltips appear to be bugged. In some cases when the tooltip is displayed and sync is minimized, the tooltip remains.

Link to post
Share on other sites

As a side note, the tooltips appear to be bugged. In some cases when the tooltip is displayed and sync is minimized, the tooltip remains.

 

I can also confirm this behavior. It can also occur when switching between tabs using keyboard navigation:

 

To replicate:

  1. Switch to the "Devices" tab
  2. Hover your mouse over a folder name in the "folder" column so that its full path is shown in a tooltip
  3. Whilst the tooltip is shown, press the Left or Right keys on your keyboard. Sync changes to either the "My Sync" or "Transfers" tab, however the previous tooltip persists on the screen
Link to post
Share on other sites

As a side note, the tooltips appear to be bugged. In some cases when the tooltip is displayed and sync is minimized, the tooltip remains.

Yes, I also seen the tooltip left hovering and not disappearing properly when you move around with cursor.

Link to post
Share on other sites

I installed 1.3.67 on a win 8 laptop, when I looked at the history tab it showed that the netbook in my office had deleted an entire folder from both PCs.

The netbook has 1.2.91.

I have not used the netbook in weeks, I don't know why it deleted the files.

I was able to recover them from the archive folder.

Can I send you log files to see what happened?

Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello,

Same Problem here. Two machines, both Win7-64. Updated the first from 1.2.91 to 1.3.67, after two hours the second, 1.2.91 to 1.3.67. Some hours later I saw, that, in one share, many files were deleted on both PC's, I'm lucky, they are in .syncarchiv of one of the machines. I have no idea why this happends, all files were on normal hard drives and, as far as I know, they are normal media-files.

Best regards Marco

Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, I also seen the tooltip left hovering and not disappearing properly when you move around with cursor.

For that lingering tooltip, I get rid of it by opening the window in the same spot, go to the Devices tab, and then mouse over the folder names until it pops up a new one. The old, lingering label disappears, and then if you move the cursor along a safe path out past the app's window, the new tooltip will disappear, too.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest proactiveservices

About having two shared folders with the same name:

 

I don't think it's the best idea to add an option like 'View > Show full paths' or similar. It should do the right thing automatically.

 

Proposal:

 

Stick with the new foldername-only display, but automatically switch to full path display if two shares have the same name.

Alternatively, allow the user to give each share a name. Then they can choose the level of detail they prefer.

Link to post
Share on other sites

My sync.log is 48 gig.

 

Are you sure you're running Sync 1.3?

 

Log rotation was added to Sync 1.3, with the default setting being 10MB - so log files should not exceed this value (which can be changed via the advanced "log_size" setting.

Link to post
Share on other sites

yes I have 1.3.67 installed, log_size 10

The folders were both on the hard drive on a partition using TrueCrypt.

No other files were deleted that I have noticed.

Any idea how I can get the log file down to 10 gig?

I don't want to remove and reinstall if that means I have to recreate all my syncs.

Link to post
Share on other sites

stop btsync and just delete the file. 

No-no-no!

 

Archive it (it should be packed well due to numerous repeating messages) and send to me for analysis :). After that you can stop btsync and delete it. And disable debug logging to stop it growing so rapidly.

Link to post
Share on other sites

I have been running 1.3.67 on 4 windows computers and a raspberry pi now, all syncing with each other, and this is the first version where all syncs actually completed! They used to be stuck at a couple of MB, so great job on that!

 

However, I can confirm that the rate_limit_local_peers doesn't seem to do anything anymore, where it worked before. It now rate limits local peers anyway, disregarding the setting's value.

 

And btsync also crashed two times on my raspberry pi so far. I have now enabled debug logging, so I'm waiting for the next crash, and hopefully I can send a dmp file with meaningful logs. Anyway I can easily solve that with a watchdog for now.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.