Single Global .sync\ignorelist File

Dantounet

• 4 months later...
  • 9 months later...

I've been using BTSync for a few months, and it's really great.

1. One feature I miss though is that when you have multiple folder to setup, you have to provide each of them a .SyncIgnore file. On each host. This is painful.

Most of the time, those .SyncIgnore are mostly the same. I would like to be able to have a global one that would be shared across folder, with each folder having the capability to define more specific additional rules (or exclude other).

2. Another thing that would be great would be to allow propagation of the .SyncIgnore files, as this sometimes make sense too (even if that is an optional behavior).

3. Finally, I also notice that .SyncIgnore files may be platform specific. For instance, Mac would like to exclude .DS_Store while Synology NAS would be the @eaDir subfolders. Having a mechanism to account for that would really make a lot of sense.

Anyways, thanks for making BTSync, it's really great stuff.

Raphael

@rsebbe,

In relation to your third suggestion, There's no real benefit to make these files "platform-specific" - the way the rules within.SyncIgnore works is that they cause Sync to ignore certain files/folders/file types, regardless of the OS that Sync is running on.

For example, a rule, like say "desktop.ini" (which is included for the purpose of excluding these primarily WIndows hidden/system files) can be safely included in the .SyncIgnore file for Sync running on other platforms (Mac, Linux, NAS, etc) with no real adverse affect - even if "desktop.ini" files don't exist on those OS's..

Also, if .SyncIgnore files were made "platform specific", wouldn't that then somewhat complicate your second suggestion of having .SyncIgnore files propagate to your other devices?

• 2 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...

Your first suggestion already has it's own dedicated thread in this forum.