Devices Not Staying Connected

Hello everyone, This may be posted in the wrong section and if so please accept my apologies as this is my first time on the forums.

I don't know if I am doing something wrong but after a while my devices seem to loose connection to each other and the only way to make them see each other again is to close and re-open the sync app on one of the devices. This happens weather I am using the Linux or the Windows versions of sync and usually after the device has been in suspend for a long period of time.

For those wondering both devices are on a wired cat5e network that all go through two 8 port TP-Link unmanaged switches. The same problem happens going from Wi-Fi to wired too. There is also a pfSense box running as my router/firewall and has a rule to pass all traffic through the LAN interface. I have also tried disabling the local machines firewall temporarily without any luck, and the only options I have enabled on the folders are "Search LAN" and "Store deleted files in folder archive".

If I enable the relay server the problem usually goes away and I do not have to restart the sync app, So I don't know if there are any known problems with the "Search LAN" function as this problem rarely happens if I use predefined hosts.

I can also never normally see other wireless clients if I open the sync Android app, It will always only find the wired clients.

Any help would be greatly appreciated as I am lost of what to try next.

I also observe this issue constantly.

After a couple of hours of BTSync running I see a number of r/o nodes that are usually always present on that share, drop from about 10 to 2 or 3. But when I restart BTSync the number of nodes goes back to normal.

We are talking about 1.3.106 on win7.