Btsync Server Setup Problem: No Write Permissions

chicagonyc

Hello,

I have been happily using BTsync with my Windows machines without any issues. I just set up a new Synology NAS and installed BTSync 1.4.103 with the SynoCommunity GUI install. That part worked perfectly.

I was asked for the name of the server, as well as to set up an account. I did so and the web interface started up. When I try adding a folder or connecting to an existing key, I get the "no write permissions for selected folder error".

I'm a relative novice with using Linux based systems, so I'd prefer to avoid having to use a command line. 

It looks to me like the account I was asked to set up within BTsync doesn't have the correct permissions. But where does this account "live"? I don't see it in my list of users in the Diskstation control panel.

One other question: how do I "logout" from BTsync on the server? I had an idea to log out and log back in with a Diskstation user with all the correct permissions. But I can't even find the logout button, despite inspecting every menu.

Thanks for any help!

Any ideas anyone? I haven't done anything special. I'm an advanced Windows user (admittedly a bit weak with Unix) with a new Synology-compatible NAS, which is supposed to have a GUI interface for BTsync. I run BTSync and the first thing I try to do is add a new sync folder -- whereupon I get the write permission error.

Surely this isn't a unique use case....

The only way I have been able to get around this problem is changing permissions to 777, eg,

chmod 777 /volume1/Videos

But isn't this a bit strange? And insecure?

From my limited Unix understanding, I created a "user" within BTSync which has no permissions to write. But ... I don't see this user in my Synology control panel. So how can I give this user permission to write to the bunch of shared folders that I have created?

chicagonyc,