drego85

Change Identity

Recommended Posts

Hi,
when I switched to BtSync 2 I was wrong to put my identity. But the GUI is not possible to change the name of the identity.

Is there another way to do it? Without losing anything!

Thank You

Andrea

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Is there another way to do it? Without losing anything!

Unfortunately, once set, it cannot be changed, short of re-installing Sync. The reason being is that the name you choose forms part of the security "finger print" of the device.

The developers have commented, however, that they may provide a way to change the name/identity in the future, as a number of users have expressed a desire to be able to change their identity once set.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Unfortunately, once set, it cannot be changed, short of re-installing Sync. The reason being is that the name you choose forms part of the security "finger print" of the device.

The developers have commented, however, that they may provide a way to change the name/identity in the future, as a number of users have expressed a desire to be able to change their identity once set.

Ok ;) Thank You!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Newbie Q: Can someone please define "re-installing Sync?" I just moved BT Sync Pro to a new computer, following the instructions to do so. Although I have a Pro license, at present, before I tackle moving everything else out of Dropbox, I only have 10 synced folders. Is simple disconnection enough to reinstall in a manner that will allow renaming? I guess I am back to my Q. Please define "re-installing sync." Thank you for your kind assistance.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Resetting or changing identity is simple but currently you need to do it outside the Bittorrent Sync client.

  • Stop the client
  • Delete the folder %APPDATA%\BitTorrent Sync or rename it (i.e %APPDATA%\BitTorrent Sync_IdentityXXX) if you want get it back later
  • Start the client

Sync will create a new folder and it all begins as it was the first time you start the application. When you want to use a new identity or restore the old one, just stop the client, delete or rename back the app folder - saving also the current one with another name if you care - restart the client, and voilà.

 

This operations don't affect files inside your local folders and you can share them again using your preferred identity.

 

Please note: in this way you can override the 30 days PRO trial limit so please act fairly.

Edited by Neurone

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Interesting. But you do have to add the shares back manually, so it's sadly not automated.. unless you have all your shares configures through a config file.. then you are good to go I guess.

 

But interesting find/"solution" :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.