Recommended Posts

So if we have a couple of folders syncing between two computers with 2.0 installed, why do the folders still say 1.4 on them?

 

I'm kind of confused as to what's happened with this "Pro" feature introduction... as I'm pretty sure that I don't need to upgrade for any reason but I'm afraid something will break after the 30 day trial.

 

Can anyone clarify what is going on here? (P.S. I almost feel like I'm being penalized for being a beta tester now.)

Link to post
Share on other sites

@arguser

Thanks for sharing the link

 

@benguild

Sync 2.0 supports boths new 2.0 folders and classic 1.4 folders, so when you upgrade your Sync it will leave existing folders as is.

If we compare 2.0 and 1.4 folder briefly, we'll get:

2.0 folders are:

- certificate-based (you can't copy key and should always use link, also more secure than key)

- support user access change

1.4 folders are:

- key-based (you can copy and distribute key or link)

- do not support user access change or on-demand sync.

Link to post
Share on other sites

I used to have my folders mostly read-only on my second machine (used for backup). But I don't want any changes made on it to sync back to my main PC. So read-only setup for these folders worked great for me.

Now on 2.0 my folders are shown as "Owner" on both machines as they are now linked. How I can acomplish a "read-only" setup again?

 
Link to post
Share on other sites

@mexter

Yes. Folder type does not matter.

 

@enterfornone

Read-only folders are not available between devices added to "My devices" mesh. We are aware of this limitation and going to fix it in future. For now you can just make a separate identity for your backup PC.

Link to post
Share on other sites

For now you can just make a separate identity for your backup PC.

 

Unless you have more than 10 backup folders,  in which case you'd need a separate subscription identity for the backup machine, correct? So one license would be insufficient?

 

Will this limitation be addressed before the Pro trial runs out?

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 2 weeks later...

@arguser

Thanks for sharing the link

 

@benguild

Sync 2.0 supports boths new 2.0 folders and classic 1.4 folders, so when you upgrade your Sync it will leave existing folders as is.

If we compare 2.0 and 1.4 folder briefly, we'll get:

2.0 folders are:

- certificate-based (you can't copy key and should always use link, also more secure than key)

- support user access change

1.4 folders are:

- key-based (you can copy and distribute key or link)

- do not support user access change or on-demand sync.

 

Certificate based folders? That sounds interesting, but who is the certificate authority? How are user access changes propagated? 

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.