Transisto

1.4 Vs 2.0 , What Are The Benefit / Trade-Off Between The Two Free Version ?

Recommended Posts

I was trying to make use of v1.4 effectively and was expecting some improvement from v2.0 but I still don't get it.

 

I didn't want to try v2.0 pro trial at-all as I did not want to be spoiled and spending / wasting time learning a version that's going to get crippled in an uncontrollable manner soon.

 

Quick question : Beside the non-obvious under the hood bug fixes, is there any benefit to v1.4 free vs v2.0 free ?

 

Being able to selectively sync files in a folder was a necessary feature for me to consider using the free version. Is that a pro feature ? (there is nothing "pro" about that)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Quick question : Beside the non-obvious under the hood bug fixes, is there any benefit to v1.4 free vs v2.0 free ?

Yes - 1.4 doesn't have the "10 folder limit" that 2.0 free has.

 

Being able to selectively sync files in a folder was a necessary feature for me to consider using the free version. Is that a pro feature ?

Yes, "Selective Sync" is a 2.0 PRO-only feature

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes - 1.4 doesn't have the "10 folder limit" that 2.0 free has.

 

Yes, "Selective Sync" is a 2.0 PRO-only feature

 

Also, 1.4 had a simple and elegant key sharing system. 2.0 has identities which bring all of your folders to wherever you add it whether you want them there or not. (I haven't used this, so this is based on what I have heard others say. If somebody later says I'm full of sh*t I would probably agree with them.)

 

Oh, and the 10 folder limit of 2.0... it's not just any 10 folders. It's the first 10 in the order in which they were created. You have to remove any folders from the 10 that you don't want so that the next folders in the sequence can become active. So if you have 30 folders, and that last one (#30) was one you wanted? You'll have to remove 20 of the folders in order for it to become active.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also, 1.4 had a simple and elegant key sharing system. 2.0 has identities which bring all of your folders to wherever you add it whether you want them there or not. (I haven't used this, so this is based on what I have heard others say. If somebody later says I'm full of sh*t I would probably agree with them.)

 

Luckily, you can set them to be disconnected or connected with selective sync. So, it's not such a serious problem in practice. It's nice that you can see all the folders that you shared and enable them at will. If you disconnect a folder, it's not on the system anymore.

 

One downside of the new system is that it's currently not possible to sync read-only on some devices and read-write on others. E.g. on my Android phone I deleted some photos from the Android gallery (it's handy that it can show photos from shares in the gallery, but I didn't realize that those specific photos were from a BTSync share) and then they were gone from all peers. I'd like to be able to set some devices to read-only to avoid accidents.

 

Of course, it's still possible to create 1.4 folders as well that do have these properties.

 

However, it's not all bad. Identities also come with upsides. E.g. I have a Raspberry Pi configured with Sync 2.0 set to 'Sync All'. This means that if I create a new share on e.g. my laptop, the Pi automatically becomes a syncing peer. Another advantage is that you can change access rights to shares. E.g. if you're collecting some photo's with family, you can give them read-write access first, and then ensure that everything is preserved by changing access rights to read-only.

 

Oh, and the 10 folder limit of 2.0... it's not just any 10 folders. It's the first 10 in the order in which they were created. You have to remove any folders from the 10 that you don't want so that the next folders in the sequence can become active. So if you have 30 folders, and that last one (#30) was one you wanted? You'll have to remove 20 of the folders in order for it to become active.

 

But if it didn't work like that, you could easily play the system by just enabling/disabling shares. Though, I think it is a bad limitation, because 2.0 would have been far more popular and well-received without the limit (keeping the features of 1.4 in tact). Serious users will want selective sync and the new sharing options anyway.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

But if it didn't work like that, you could easily play the system by just enabling/disabling shares. Though, I think it is a bad limitation, because 2.0 would have been far more popular and well-received without the limit (keeping the features of 1.4 in tact). Serious users will want selective sync and the new sharing options anyway.

 

It absolutely does, at least on the free version once the trial expires. I tested quite a bit, and unless an update has changed things, you have to actually remove folders in order to activate ones above the limit. So if you have 30 and you really want the last two you created before the trial expired, you will have to remove 29 folders. Deactivation while leaving them on the list is not an option..

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Luckily, you can set them to be disconnected or connected with selective sync. So, it's not such a serious problem in practice. It's nice that you can see all the folders that you shared and enable them at will. If you disconnect a folder, it's not on the system anymore.

 

So useful to have your porn folder shown on your work pc, though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.