JustinSwall

Changing Share Permissions

Recommended Posts

Hi All,

 

I'm having a problem changing a share permission on a couple of folders.

 

I was generating share links for a few folders and adding them on another PC.  Half way though I realized that only the first link I had generated was a Read/Write, the others were Read Only.  My bad!

 

So I went ahead and removed all of those folders I had just added and proceeded to generate new links this time with the correct permissions.  Unfortunately. every time I add them they just get the same old permissions they used to have.

 

Is there something I need to do in order to clear out knowledge of the previous key it obtained so it will re-capture the correct key from the folder owner that I am getting the share links from?  Any help is greatly appreciated!

 

Running Sync 2.1.1

 

--Justin

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Justin, have you tried to change permissions inside peer list on owner peer? Is it 1.4 or 2.0 folder?

Could you reproduce it and send us logs for analysis from all your peers? You can do that according to this instruction.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the response.

 

To answer your questions, they are 2.0 folders however I cannot change the permission from the folder owner as you suggested as that is a feature limited to the Pro edition of which I am not using.

 

I will work on getting those log files over to you later in the day.

 

-- Justin

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Justin,

It sounds like this might be a bug in the software, but there is also a usability issue since Sync didn't make it clear when you were getting a read only vs. a read & write link. 

Could you describe in a little more detail how you were getting the links, and how you ended up figuring out which permission the link has? 

Thanks,

Daniel

Sync Design Lead

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks everyone for the replies.

 

It seems to me like it's a bug as well.  I haven't produced any logs yet because it's been a crazy busy day for us today with the release of Windows 10 and all but I do have some screenshots and some additional ideas/information.

 

First to address the useability - it's totally useable I'm just an idiot and moved too fast :)  I was creating the link using the share button, selecting Read & Write and then copying the link as shown in the screenshot below:  (Yes, I realize the screenshot shows Owner ;)

 

btsync_image1.png

 

Since I was remoted into the other PC on my other monitor I was just quickly going back and forth and pasting the URLs into the run box replacing the https: with btsync:.  I then proceeded to add the other remaining folders but since I was going back and forth so quickly I wasn't paying attention and didn't realize the other folders were on Read Only until I started to investigate why the icon looked strange on the folders in the new BTSync client.  That was when I realized they were read only.

 

I then removed all of the folders (since I did it so quickly, why not) and proceeded to copy the links again this time with the correct permissions.  I tried both Owner and Read & Write variants but no matter what it was stuck with Read Only.  When one of the posters mentioned changing it from the Owner's side I looked at the peer list and found this:

 

btsync_image2.png

 

Since I'm not using Pro I can't change the permissions remotely (as expected), but I also can't make it "forget" the peer... so I assume this means that no matter what link I take to the other PC it just "remembers" it's permission level and keeps it the same.

 

Which makes me wonder, is there anyway for me to manually force it to forget a peer so I can re-add it again with the correct permissions?

 

--  Justin

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

JustinSwall, unfortunately without logs I cannot suggest why it happens.

But just in case you can check that time and time zone is correct on all peers and that there is no time difference.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello maffigueiredo, developers have found necessary information in your dump so it will be fixed in future releases.

Now as workaround you need to disconnect that folder from all peers, delete .sync folder inside shared folder on both peers then add it again and share with your peers with correct permission.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm having similar problems (sync 2.0, NON PRO, mac), in that i don't have the 'disconnect' option for a folder.

 

All i have is:

- Pause

- Peer list

- Open archie

- Sync all (PRO)

- Prefs

- Remove

 

(I'd attach a screen shot, but this form won't seem to let me)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

slchorne, disconnect option is not available for free license. You can only remove folder from the Sync.

 

Also could you tell how did you try to attach the screenshot? Did you try to use full answer form and use png,jpg or gif extensions?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.