"Store Deleted Items in Folder Archive" = Terrible Idea


Recommended Posts

It’s REALLY problematic that you guys turn on the “Store deleted items in archive” by default and without warning the user. Not only does that take up huge amounts of space, it has a ripple effect for those of us doing cloud backups. I rip 40 GB MKV files to my desktop and immediately move them to my server - but they’re along for the ride with this feature! And then to make us turn it off for every folder on EVERY device…yikes. This is really not a well-thought out feature. There should be a global setting to turn this off all at once, and for certain it should be an option for users to opt into.

EDIT: This gets even worse. When you un-check that option, it doesn't purge the deleted folders in the archive! So I have to go in and delete them manually. Urgh. :-(

Link to post
Share on other sites
7 hours ago, jasondunn said:

There should be a global setting to turn this off all at once

Try changing the advanced (power user) preference "folder_defaults.delete_to_trash" to "false". This will then ensure that for all future folders you add to Sync on your device, deleted files won't be stored in .sync\Archive sub folders

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

@jasondunn Archive is a good safety net for many cases: when user doesn't fully get the idea of synced folders, for companies (or just teams) that collaborate on same files, etc. Therefore we prefer to keep Archive turned on by default.

In some cases (for example, if working with video files or another bulky content) it'll indeed occupy some extra space. Although, as @GreatMarko mentioned, it can be disabled for use cases like yours. And no, we don't delete Archived files intentionally: users might need them.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 4 months later...
On 9/21/2016 at 6:59 PM, jasondunn said:

It’s REALLY problematic that you guys turn on the “Store deleted items in archive” by default and without warning the user. Not only does that take up huge amounts of space, it has a ripple effect for those of us doing cloud backups. I rip 40 GB MKV files to my desktop and immediately move them to my server - but they’re along for the ride with this feature! And then to make us turn it off for every folder on EVERY device…yikes. This is really not a well-thought out feature. There should be a global setting to turn this off all at once, and for certain it should be an option for users to opt into.

EDIT: This gets even worse. When you un-check that option, it doesn't purge the deleted folders in the archive! So I have to go in and delete them manually. Urgh. :-(

Thank you! How do we purge these files?

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 2 weeks later...

I too HATE how by default Sync moves deleted items to the archive folder!  

I too have Sync monitoring and keeping my media files backed up.  The problem is that every time a file is replaced with a newer/updated file, the old file and folder get moved and found by my the multimedia agents such as Plex Server and MyMovies!  H-A-V-O-C

On ‎9‎/‎21‎/‎2016 at 5:59 PM, jasondunn said:

It’s REALLY problematic that you guys turn on the “Store deleted items in archive” by default and without warning the user. Not only does that take up huge amounts of space, it has a ripple effect for those of us doing cloud backups. I rip 40 GB MKV files to my desktop and immediately move them to my server - but they’re along for the ride with this feature! And then to make us turn it off for every folder on EVERY device…yikes. This is really not a well-thought out feature. There should be a global setting to turn this off all at once, and for certain it should be an option for users to opt into.

EDIT: This gets even worse. When you un-check that option, it doesn't purge the deleted folders in the archive! So I have to go in and delete them manually. Urgh. :-(

Resilio should really expand their setup with a simple wizard to allow users to turn this feature ON if they want it, or even better, give users the option of placing the Archive folder(s) in alternate directories or different hard drive.

Link to post
Share on other sites
On ‎2‎/‎28‎/‎2017 at 9:29 PM, Helen said:

@jfreiman,

you can disable archive in poweruser  options on desktops , so no new shares will have archive enabled. On mobiles though you'll need to disable archive manually for each share once it's added to Sync. 

Thank you, I know -- I have to do that every time I set up a new device.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.