What happens when you delete a file, does it re-download?


harryPotter
 Share

Recommended Posts

Hi, say I have Computer A and Computer B.

Computer A is sharing (in read only mode) a hard drive to Computer B.

Computer B finished syncing everything but one of the files it downloaded was corrupt.

If I delete that file on Computer B, will Resilio Sync attempt to download it again?

If not, then how do I make Resilio Sync do that?

Thank you!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yes, essentially, BitTorrent Sync behaves this way:

On a device that is "read only";

A ) if you add a file/folder, it won't get replicated back to other devices.

B ) If you modify a file/folder, the file/folder won't get modified on other devices.

C ) If you delete a file/folder, the file/folder won't get deleted from other devices.

D ) If you modify a file/folder it will be overwritten with a copy from other full-access devices, only if/when it is next modified on one of those full-access devices.

E ) If you delete a file/folder it will only re-appear, if subsequent changes are made to the corresponding file/folder on another full-access device.

...so in essence, rather than a "read-only" device always being an exact "mirror" of a corresponding full-access device, instead a "read only" sync is about "ignoring" any changes on that "read-only" device.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share