Sync fails for any folder that contains "node_modules" subfolder

Mason

I've been using Sync for maybe 6 months, evaluating it as a replacement for Dropbox and Google Drive.

This has been promising, and a nice feature of Sync has been its support for symbolic links. This had let me sync some types of things that neither of the other two could handle, including Node JS project directories. However, this recently broke. I think it broke in version 2.5.6, but it could have been a previous version — I didn't have time to debug the failing sync until recently.

The symptoms are similar to other some posts here (e.g. this one): sync never finishes, or gets hung at 99% with high CPU usage, or hangs forever at "Loading list of files" (the tooltip next to the forever-spinning loading icon next to the folder in the folder list). Some debug logs of the failed syncs are also similar (see below).

To debug, I created new sync folders and tried to sync them, and I found out which folder causes the problem: the node_modules folder inside one of my projects.

The node_modules folder is notorious for being problematic; it typically contains tons of symlinks, many of which may be broken, or point to different locations on one machine than another. However, that is why I thought it was a good stress test for a new sync system (Resilio Sync being fairly new to me). And indeed, for several months Sync did a great job.

I was not able to find a solution to make this folder sync successfully. And, I have reproduced the issue by setting up a new synced folder containing only the problematic Node JS project (once I figured out which subfolder was making the sync fail). Removing the problematic folder causes sync to work again.

However, I have been able to work around the issue by adding "node_modules" to the ".sync/IgnoreList" file at the root of the synced folder on all of my machines (for now, all Macs running the latest release of macOS).