RomanZ

Latest Desktop Build 2.5.9

Recommended Posts

    Dear community,

    Resilio Sync 2.5.9 is now available. It may be obtained using direct links below, or from official download page. This version is also available via "Check now" button in Sync settings and auto-update.

    UPGRADING FROM BITTORRENT SYNC (v2.3.x)
    Sync is now released under the Resilio brand, it is treated by OS as new application and will propose you to migrate all your settings from old BitTorrent Sync app (settings are backed up during migration).
    Please carefully read these articles about updating to Resilio Sync and migration of settings.

    
    DOWNGRADE
    Resilio Sync will make a backup copy of all your settings prior migration into "sync-v2.3.7-1471003319.backup"-like folder (version and timestamp may vary). If you decide to return to 2.3.*, you'll need to manually copy the content to your storage folder, remove Resilio Sync and be aware of next downgrade drawbacks:

  1. You'll downgrade to "Free" version and you'll have to re-apply license manually. File association with license files *.btskey is broken so you'll need to apply license in BTSync UI     
  2.  Linking new devices to downgraded Sync is not possible. You'll need to recreate identity if you want to link some new device.     
  3. Downgrade is not supported for Selective Sync folders (as all placeholder files are renamed to *.rsl*). If you downgrade and your Sync has Selective Sync folders, your files are going to be deleted on all peers.     

    
    Direct Download Links:

    A list of what's new, improved, changed, and fixed in this version is available in the change log.

     

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I really don't understand why this time we are getting the notification "1 Pending task: there is a new version available, Download Now" while two days after the release of 2.5.9 we still don't have the "Chang log"...

Francesco

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
14 hours ago, sbhouchen said:

The change log in that screen shot matches the content of the 2.5.8 change log.

? You're right, I did not notice it! So it's still weird anymore ...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just updated from 2.5.7 to 2.5.9 and now Resilio says I'm a business user and wants me to buy a license for all my computes. I'm not a business user. I purchased pro a couple years ago, but didn't need the selective sync. I am unable to use Resilio now. How do I downgrade?

Please advise.

 

I also tried downloading the free version and re-installing. Still no luck. Unable to launch Resilio. Thx.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 10/20/2017 at 8:56 PM, wphall said:

I just updated from 2.5.7 to 2.5.9 and now Resilio says I'm a business user and wants me to buy a license for all my computes. I'm not a business user. I purchased pro a couple years ago, but didn't need the selective sync. I am unable to use Resilio now. How do I downgrade?

Please advise.

 

I also tried downloading the free version and re-installing. Still no luck. Unable to launch Resilio. Thx.

Please send feedback to support.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I found an issue when using Selective Sync that can take to data loss in a certain scenario.

Computer A shares a Folder and computer B synchronises with that folder while Selective Sync on B is switched on. Copying a "big" file -let's say 4 GB- into the folder of Computer B will immediately begin the synchronisation to it's "master" Computer A. Choosing the context menu option "Remove from this device" on that file on Computer B while it's still synchronising will remove the File BEFORE the synchronisation process to Computer A has finished. This means the loss of that file.

 

In my opinion, there are 2 ways to handle this scenario in a correct way:

1. Don't allow to use the context option "Remove from this device" until the File has really been synchroniced, so the file will remain on the "master" computer as expected.

or

2. Allow to use the "Remove from this device" action, but apply it once the file has been successfully synchroniced.

 

Cheers,

Tonio

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now