Setting up Sync on a new computer - "New folders from other devices will be" setting is ignored


Recommended Posts

Setting up Sync on a new computer (running Sync 2.5.12, macOS 10.13.2)

1) Install Sync
2) I go to My Devices -> Link Device, type in the key of the other device I want to link. The other device is also running Sync 2.5.12, macOS 10.13.2
3) I get the dialog box to select how new folders from other devices will be handled, I select "Disconnected"
4) I manually connect 1 shared folder 
5) I close the Sync window
6) A couple minutes later I reopen Sync from the menu bar, and the dialog box from step 3 has popped up again - asking me how to handle folders again, even though I already selected "Disconnected". I select "Disconnected" again.
7) Back in the main Sync window now, but now every single shared folder is now syncing, despite me selecting "Disconnected". Sync has manually created a "~/Resilio Sync" folder (which did not exist up till this point), and everything other than the 1 folder I manually linked in step 4 is now syncing there.

So far this is what I've done to clean it up:
- Use the menu bar item to "Pause Syncing"
- Delete the unwanted "~/Resilio Sync" folder in Finder - this also makes Sync show "Folder not found" for everything that was syncing to that folder
- Manually disconnect each of the folders that was incorrectly syncing to "~/Resilio Sync"
- Go back to the menu bar item to unclick "Pause Syncing"

All the folders are now correctly showing as disconnected again

Link to post
Share on other sites

And somehow this went haywire again:

- Manually added a new folder on the other device to Sync

- It showed up as a folder on my new computer as expected, but somehow the "New folders from other devices will be" setting had been changed to "Selective Sync", and "~/Resilio Sync/" was created once again, and the newly-added folder was synced there automatically.

- Once again I had to set this new computer's "New folders from other devices will be" setting to "Disconnected" again, then I disconnected the newly-added folder, deleted "~/Resilio Sync/", then manually connected the newly-added folder to where it needed to be located.

Link to post
Share on other sites

And again - both computers just needed a reboot, and both computers were set to "Selective Sync" when I opened the app up again. Luckily I caught it this time before any folders were added/changed, but on both my computers I'm just not seeing that setting being retained properly at the moment.

Link to post
Share on other sites
On 1/21/2018 at 3:38 AM, mustgroove said:

5) I close the Sync window

apparently at this step the configured identity was not saved properly. Did you indeed just closed UI or stopped the process? I suppose it's the latter. 

Go to My Devices -> This device -> Unlink. Create new identity and link it to others. 

Link to post
Share on other sites
7 hours ago, Helen said:

apparently at this step the configured identity was not saved properly. Did you indeed just closed UI or stopped the process? I suppose it's the latter. 

Go to My Devices -> This device -> Unlink. Create new identity and link it to others. 

No I didn't stop the process, I just closed the window - the process was still running.

I'm still having the issue too - both machines will still change to "Selective Sync" when I reboot them.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.