jasondunn

Opt-in to Archive Folders Upon Library Creation, NOT the default

Recommended Posts

First let me say that I really like Resilio Sync in general and am happy to be a paying customer. It's a very solid product that generally just works.

However, a few months ago I decided to re-create all six of my libraries across my three devices. I forgot about the massive "gotcha" with this product I wanted to express again how incredibly problematic the default settings are: keeping deleted files in a hidden folder without user opt-in is a terrible default. I just finished deleting 400+ GB of data across my three devices and it's incredibly frustrating that I have to remember to have to go into each library, turn off the "Store deleted files in folder archive" - then repeat that 24 times (6 libraries x 3 devices), then do the clean-up of going into every library, turning on hidden file viewing, and deleting things in the /Archive folder. I work with a lot of big photo and video files, so the default of purging every 30 days isn't good enough (I'm not convinced it actually works properly based on what I was seeing in fact). I know I can change that in the advanced settings, but why should a customer have to?

I'm convinced this default setting is using up a lot of storage on customer devices and they don't realize it. Please re-think how this is implemented. It is a huge negative to an otherwise superb product.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.