Deleted files/folders not syncing when Selective Sync enabled


Recommended Posts

I'm confused about the behavior of Selective Sync when deleting files on the local system.

I have Resilio Sync installed on a server at work, which is the instance I used to share project files from my work NAS to my Resilio Sync instance at home. On my home instance, I sometimes add shared folders in Selective Sync mode, due to their large size on the NAS.

When I delete files or folders on my home instance, the deleted object changes to a .rsls/.rslsc placeholder file on my local drive. However, the deletion does NOT get synced back to my work server. I have to actually physically delete the placeholder file on my home instance, in order for the file/folder on my work instance to actually delete on the other end.

This is not particularly intuitive, and is in fact possibly dangerous, because when this happens, the local and remote instances are technically now out of sync. If I delete a Photoshop file on my local instance, that deletion should propagate to ALL other Resilio sync instances, and disappear completely, so that people on those instances don't inadvertently try to work with a file that is supposed to have been deleted everywhere.

Am I missing something with the logic in the way RS handles these deletions when using Selective Sync? 

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.