iOS photo backup issue

JLundell

Hi,

I have been using btsync for 9 months or so backing up my photos from my iPhone to my home linux server.  I just did a sync and four of my most recent photos did not appear in the back up though no errors were raised.  When looking at the backup sorted by date I had two gaps in the image numbers, I had

IMG_4555.MOV, IMG_4557.JPG and IMG_4561.JPG

But no 4556, 4558, 4559 or 4560. If I sorted by name, the gaps are filled in with older photos.  Does the iPhone reuse filenames after a while and does the btsync then not sync the new version of IMG_4558.JPG since there was an old one?  This is what appears to be happening. The problem now, is I can not trust the backup since I have no ideas what files are getting backed up and which are not.

Any suggestions?  Thanks,

John

John,

Sync backups only Camera Roll. Not iCloud shared albums, not iCloud backup, not Live photos. 

Yes, iOS reuses filenames after 10,000 photos taken, and uses same name for iCloud restored backup - these won't be backed up by Sync. On the other hand, if you have taken 3 photos in a row IMG_4557, IMG_4558 and IMG_4559, and then deleted one (IMG_4559), and after that took another two, you will end up with IMG_4557, IMG_4558, IMG_4560 and IMG_4561, no IMG_4559. 

Hi Helen,