Synology - Questions about sync, rename and ignore


Recommended Posts

Hello,

I am using Sync Home Pro on my Synology NAS and so far I have been pretty please with the setup. Took me a little bit to figure it all out but now it is running.

I do however have two things that I need to figure out and I could not solve by looking in the help center or here:

1. When I sync any folder on my Synology from any of my Network Shares and do not enable "Selective Sync" then one of two things happens, either Synology makes a copy of all my data in the Resilio Sync share (obviously undesirable) or it throws up a warning that XXX Files could not be downloaded and asks if I want to Ignore them. When I switch back to selective sync and manually disable the sync in the Web GUI then everything is ok. Is that just the way it is supposed to work?

Basically that means when I want to share anything from my Synology it has to be an advanced Folder and it has to have selective sync on unless it is something directly located in the Resiolio Sync share, correct?

2. How do I rename a share permanently and for all peers?

I read about disconnecting and re-sharing using the same key, however I have no idea how to achieve that.

3. I have tried about everything to exclude the system created #recycle folder that Synology creates from sync but can't get that to work either.

 

Would be great if someone could help me better understand these issues.

Link to post
Share on other sites

The user Resilio Sync is running as, the user specified when you configured Resilio Sync, probably does not have permissions to the folder. Double check that this user, rslsync in my case, has at least read and write permissions.

You can check from the File Station app in the Synology Console or from the ssh shell.

 

from the ssh shell----

ls -lead /volume1/homes/user1/Documents/

drwxrwxrwx+ 1 rslsync rslsync 4138 Jul  6 11:13 /volume1/homes/user1/Documents/

[0] user:rslsync:allow:rwxpdDaARWc--:fd-- (level: 0)

[1] user:user1:allow:rwxp-DaARWc--:fd-- (level: 1)

[2] group:users:allow:r-x---a-R-c--:fd-- (level: 1)

[3] everyone::allow:r-x---a-R-c--:fd-- (level: 1)

Link to post
Share on other sites

If selective sync is not used, a 1:1 copy is made on the connected peer side. On all 2 peers are a synced dataset. With 3 peers it is triple. That is so wanted.

If selective sync is set, there are no copies on the affected peers, only the directory structure and placeholders for the files. Then the files or directories must be activated if the files are to be physically available on the respective peer. That is also wanted.

To share something, it doesn't have to be an extended folder, you can also share standard folders. But then the keys have to be exchanged.

Maybe you are working intensively on the documentation.

https://help.resilio.com/hc/en-us

Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello Andy+, Thank you for your reply.

Quote

If selective sync is not used, a 1:1 copy is made on the connected peer side. On all 2 peers are a synced dataset. With 3 peers it is triple. That is so wanted.

I see. Thank you!

I think I may have to try to explain my problem again:

1. Understood, Thank you for your explanation. 

2. How do I rename a share permanently and for all peers?

Quote

To share something, it doesn't have to be an extended folder, you can also share standard folders. But then the keys have to be exchanged.

I understand that and I understand the concept of sharing with the key or the link. What I was referring to, was the fact that I had created a "share" that I named "Test" and filled with some data and shared it with someone. After a while we however started using the share and I wanted to rename it to something more useful like for example "pictures", so I went ahead and did that on my system, worked, no problem. Later I shared it again with someone else and guess what the folder that was created for them is called "Test" and not "pictures". Is it possible to rename a share so that it is renamed for everyone and permanently so that when I or someone else reshares it that it gets the correct name which in this example would have been "pictures"?

3. I have tried about everything to exclude the system created #recycle folder that Synology creates from sync but can't get that to work either.

Any idea on how to solve this? I read:

https://help.resilio.com/hc/en-us

But the problem with the IgnoreList is that the "#" is interpreted as a comment. So no matter what I do the #recycle folder that the NAS creates gets synced as well.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello Andy+,

 

again thank you for your help. 

I do not want to rename the peer but the folder I am sharing. When I create a Advanced folder from a folder on my Synology then it automatically gets the name of that folder so for example if I want to share the folder /user1/home/Drive then Resilio names the folder/share "Drive". So when I send the link to someone and they connect than it will say "Drive" in their list. 

My problem is I have /user1/home/Drive, /user2/home/Drive, /user3/home/Drive etc. so Resilio names all of them "Drive" and when I send two of those links to the same person they will end up with two folders called "Drive" in their resilio and without connecting they will not know what is in them.

I would like to when I click on "+" -->Advanced Folder and I select /user1/home/Drive that I can name the resilio folder/share that is being created "user1" instead of "Drive" so when I send the link to someone it shows up as "user1". 

How do I achieve that? Or is that only possible if I temporarily rename the folder prior to sharing to /user1/home/user1 instead of /user1/home/Drive?

Other than that thank you very much!

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.