Define Ip4 (And Ip6) Ranges For Predefined Hosts

vw183

User story:

"As an administrator I want to set up subnets where clients that have access to the subnet are able to sync in this subnet but I don't want to use broadcasting due to security and traffic reasons."

Background:

In local network use it can make sense to restrict syncing only in a dedicated sub-net (VLAN or VLAN branch) where a DHCP server is assigning IPs to machines joining this network. In this case, it can be cumbersome to define 254 adresses (or even more) to enalbe syncing.

I think you haven't sniffed in a test environment how the predefined hosts work right?

A predef. host will give BitTorrent Sync a hint where to find it's counterpart but that won't make it stop to just look for a specific list of clients via broadcasts.

Your kind of using that feature "wrong".

I would really really think about using a Firewall instead - I am not talking about Windows Firewall but an appliance like the an ASA or so.. The rule would be so simple and clear and could not be disabled by normal users. In the BitTorrent Sync GUI users could just enter another client to the predifined hosts or delete one of them.

Hey there.

I doubt those features have changed from 1.4 to 2 significantly.

The "search on LAN" is nice because it broadcasts. So every host being reachable through broadcasts is covered. There are two drawbacks.

The first one is: That only covers the current LAN segment. I could e.g. create one IP segment per team and have a couple of teams. They are free to communicate whatever they want, so firewall rules are *not* what I want to set up.

The second one is: Whenever I sign in to a public WiFi like Starbucks or any hotel, I need to disable the "search on LAN" thing since there is a chance the firwall just blacklists me because of creating torrent like traffic.