Best Practice For Office With Private & Shared

PaulU

Hi All,

I'm quite new to Sync & just want to seek guidance on best-practice on how to set-up our environment.

Can anyone help ?

We've ~65 PCs, each would have 2.x Pro licence.

I'm planning two separate file servers (LINUX) - located at opposite ends of building, providing better physical resilience vs. a single NAS device with RAID disks.

I need one share that everyone can access;

I need shares for individual workgroups - that only they can see;

I need personal files per workstation to be synced on file servers - but visible only to the owner - just for backup purposes

How ought I configure SYNC across the workstations & fileservers to best achieve this ?

For better data security, can I encrypt (or simply not decrypt) the files on the servers ?

I don't understand the 50 xx limit that applies somehow to this product - can anyone explain that in noob terms & let me know if we'll be affected by it ?

Thanks in advance for your help !

PaulU,

If I get your setup right.... 

when you share a folder per workgroup, every PC in this workgroup will be able to access and sync all the files in the folder. So if you seek "personal files per workstation to be synced on file servers" add the folder with these files separately on the workstation and share individually (with RO permission level) to the server. otherwise, in case you share a folder per workgroup, the files will get mixed, and files from PC1 will appear on PC2, and vice versa, and all of them - on the server. 

As for encryption, Sync allows sharing encryption-only, and encryption-decryption keys.

As for limit of 50 xx -  there is a limit of 50 devices that can be linked to single identity, but it's only intended to protect you against a stolen license key or publicly exposed license key. 

Also, there is a limit of 100 peers that can be connected to a share at a same time.

Thanks Helen.