Ignore List Sync

syrys

Hey Guys,

Im new to BT Sync, but after using it for couple of days, im trying to figure out how this ignorelist works. I have come across the documentation here.

However, the problem im having is, say you have 3 computers syncing a folder "F1". if you want to add say "*.txt" to the ignore list, you have to goto EVERY computer and edit /.sync/IgnoreList file and add "*.txt". Is there really no other alternative to this, where you can SYNC the Ignore List? As you can tell, this is a real pain. I have quite few folders synced with few computers, and i need to add IDE folders, build folders and other folder/wildcards to ignore list depending on projects stored on these folders, and doing this manually for every folder on every computer (and every time i need to make a change), well, is painful.

For example, what im getting to is similar to git's .gitignore. If such exists, can someone please show me?

I have also come across mentions of .SyncIgnore (here), which i think essentially does what im wanting, but this was removed in the newer versions?

My main questions are, am i missing something (or mistaken)? If not, how come such feature does not exists (removed even)? Was there a huge issue with such implementation? Is there any plans of adding such feature in the near future?

Cheers

The documentation you link to (and references to .SyncIgnore) are obsolete.

The current documentation on ignoring files in Sync may be found here.

.SyncIgnore files have since been superseded by .sync/IgnoreList files.

You do indeed need to modify IgnoreList files in each device individually - these files don't sync between your devices, as there may be instances when you wish to exclude certain files for syncing on certain devices.

There is, however, a related suggestion over in the Feature Request forum that you may wish to contribute to.

The documentation you link to (and references to .SyncIgnore) are obsolete.