Auto-upload pictures from phone

Greyed

• 1 month later...

I'm willing to use the same option, but my goal is a little different.

I want the phone to ONLY auto-upload new pictures to a specific folder on the computer, and NOT SYNC existing pictures. I want a backup, not a mirror (the folder is getting to heavy to fit on my sd-card on the phone).

And I can't find such an option in BTSync. I've tried "Backup" but it doesn't seem to be doing well.

Any idea ?

• 3 weeks later...

@Nils - are you sure that is correct? I am new to BTSync, but it is my impression that selecting the Backup tab on the Android app will back up the photos to the sync'd destination - and the mobile source directory will not be affected by any changes made at the destination (i.e., it's a one-way sync).  

So in @Analogeek 's case - if he has a destination directory full of files, he can backup his files to there - and the existing files will NOT be copied back to his phone (this is based on reading the documentation - I haven't tried that specific scenario yet).

I am not sure what happens when you delete the files on the Android. I suspect they will NOT be deleted on the destination, but I have not tried that yet. In the worst case, they would get moved to the .SyncArchive for 30 days (or more, if changed) from where they can be retrieved. 

I am planning to setup a system where I periodically move the pictures off the backup destination directory and into my filing system for photos. I've already extended the time for .SyncArchive to over a year, so I can find photos there that I delete on the phone before moving out of the destination (if that's what happens).

I'll be happy to share my experiences as I try & learn more. Will be happy to hear from you if your experience runs counter to what I've understood.