Ubuntu - "don't Have Permissions To Write To The Selected Folder"

g0ltoof

I installed btsync on both machines, navigate to the web gui, when I select a folder, generate a secret, hit Add, I get "Don't have permissions to write to the selected folder."

I'm sure it has something to do with the btsync/home group permissions, I see ZERO documentation on how to address this for an ubuntu install.

All I want is to sync some local dirs with remote dirs.  Nothing fancy at all.  Using ubuntu 12.04

I have no particular knowledge of the debian/ubuntu packagers, but it seems that the user running btsync has insufficient permissions to create the necessary files, such as .SyncID, SyncArchive, etc. You could take a look at /etc/passwd or /etc/group and see which groups might have been added by the btsync package or you just take a look at the btsync instance by running ps aux | grep btsync to see the username. You can then use usermod to change/add the btsync user and/or add him to your user group if necessary. 

A simple and dirty solution would just be to chmod 777 the directory you are trying to set up for syncing. However, this makes this folder accessible to every other user on your system.

• 2 weeks later...

at 1.2.82, I'm experiencing this error, even when chmodding the folder to 777

when I mount the map to /something I can add it in btsync.

not when I use /mnt/e/share/something.

Weird stuff

edit : had to restart btsync deamon after chmod.

Edited by Osiris

I installed btsync on both machines, navigate to the web gui, when I select a folder, generate a secret, hit Add, I get "Don't have permissions to write to the selected folder."

I'm sure it has something to do with the btsync/home group permissions, I see ZERO documentation on how to address this for an ubuntu install.

All I want is to sync some local dirs with remote dirs.  Nothing fancy at all.  Using ubuntu 12.04