Is Resilio Sync still being actively developed?

I've been testing Resilio Sync for the last couple of weeks and it's working well for my needs. While the free version seems to suit most of my needs, I like to support the development of tools that save me time and effort by buying a license.

That said, I have had bad experience in the past with buying licences of programs that were still functional at the time but development/support seem to have begun to wither, eventually stopping and forcing me to move to another solution sooner or later.

Are there any plans to continue the development and support of Resilio Sync at least to a reasonable level, or is the focus is solely on the business solution?

+1 for the question. I've been using Resilio for a few years now (replacing Dropbox, mostly for privacy reasons) and have been very happy with it.

That being said, I've recently bought a M1 Mac, and the app still hasn't been updated to support it natively, and there doesn't seem to be any appetite for doing so, which worries me a little bit for the future.

Yes it is. The Home Pro product has been feature complete/stable for a while now and so mostly sees bugfixes in response to host OS changes. Understandably, these are much less frequent than new feature drops.

Speaking as a longtime Home Pro user (since 2014).

I would not suggest paying for a license unless doing so gives you a feature you need and the free version doesn't have. The reason I say this is the exact reason you posted: license fees are best thought of as covering features, not development. Ergo, paying for the latter might set up you with false expectations of frequent releases or platform/ISA support.

there doesn't seem to be any appetite for doing so,