TorbenK

None-Deleting Node

Recommended Posts

Great software :-)

I use this for private offsite backup and it works allmost perfect.

As I understand it 'read only' sharing is oneway sync of files added/deleted

I would like to be able to make a shared folder 'non deleting' so files can be added but not deleted.

Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For completeness, the following user also previously requested such features in the original Wishlist thread:
 

The ability to not delete files at the destination if deleted at the source while using one way sync. Would be handy then as a simple backup/archive program.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I created an account just to support this feature request :)

 

In my case, I take a lot of photos and videos on Android, I'd like them all to be copied to my PC... Then I want to delete the files from phone to free some space, but always keep their copies on the PC that has much larger storage space.

 

One way backup.

 

Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I created an account just to support this feature request :)

 

In my case, I take a lot of photos and videos on Android, I'd like them all to be copied to my PC... Then I want to delete the files from phone to free some space, but always keep their copies on the PC that has much larger storage space.

 

One way backup.

 

Thanks

.

Same here. Exact same usage scenario even. This is the definition of backup to me, and even though I've set trash_ttl=0, I don't like having to dive into .syncarchive to then move files to a sync-folder not affiliated with my phone.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ditto, also registered to post support for this feature. Apple's Photostream feature copies pictures from my iPhone to my desktop already. Bittorent Sync backs up these images from my desktop to my server. Apple for some unknown reason deletes from the desktop when I delete from my phone to recover space. I want the pictures not to be removed from the server when removed from the desktop.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yet another person who signed up just to request this.  This is a MUST for anyone to use BTSync as I intend to:

 

Set up a remote server which is automated to download things via bittorrent (say, a podcast).

 

Use BTSync to sync those things which were downloaded to my home PC.

 

Have the freedom to delete said things from the server or home PC as desired, without one affecting the other.

 

 

Traditional FTP Sync software can fulfill these requirements, except that it doesn't work with bittorrent downloads (since it doesn't hash the files).

 

One-way syncing (read-only) as currently implemented in BTSync fulfills all but the last requirement (I can delete on the home PC without affecting the server, but removing a file on the server will delete it on my home PC).  As it stands, I have to either listen to the podcast before removing it from the server, OR manually move/copy it to a non-synced directory.  At which point, really, I may as well just FTP on-demand as I've always done it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Have the freedom to delete said things from the server or home PC as desired, without one affecting the other.

That's not going to work. You might make your home PC a read-only node, so deleting files there won't affect the server, but deleting files on the server WILL move them to .SyncArchive on your PC.

 

Edit: Disregard the above - I was probably thinking of the wrong thread.

Edited by ChrisH

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, that's exactly the point of this request.  It's to have a share type which DOESN'T do that.  Call it "Archive" mode, or "Grab" mode, or whatever clever name the devs come up with.  The point is to have a sync mode which will create any new files on synced nodes, but not sync any deletions.

 

If you read the last paragraph of my post, I specifically point out that this is not currently possible.  "One-way syncing (read-only) as currently implemented in BTSync fulfills all but the last requirement (I can delete on the home PC without affecting the server, but removing a file on the server will delete it on my home PC)."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Huh. I have no idea what I was thinking when I wrote that. I can only guess I mixed up threads and thought you posted in the "BTSync as a Windows service" thread.

Sorry for the confusion.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would want this as well
I have a Digital Ocean server running Bittorrent sync, I used that to torrent my podcast so I can help support/seed. I used BITtorrent sync to sync the completed podcasts to my computers and phones. My server only had 20GB available so I need to delete the podcast every so often to make room for the new ones. But this deletes the podcast from my desktop and phones as well because they are synced with the server.

 

From looking at this post
http://forum.bittorrent.com/topic/32267-android-backup-vs-readonly-sync/

it looks like the mobile clients already have this feature, is there a way to "hack this" for a computer :).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would want this as well

I have a Digital Ocean server running Bittorrent sync, I used that to torrent my podcast so I can help support/seed. I used BITtorrent sync to sync the completed podcasts to my computers and phones. My server only had 20GB available so I need to delete the podcast every so often to make room for the new ones. But this deletes the podcast from my desktop and phones as well because they are synced with the server.

 

From looking at this post

http://forum.bittorrent.com/topic/32267-android-backup-vs-readonly-sync/

it looks like the mobile clients already have this feature, is there a way to "hack this" for a computer :).

 

This is essential feature. I wish it gets implemented soon. Backup only mode which is readonly files don't get deleted when removed from source.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

+1 

We use this as a collaboration tool and some people keep deleting entire folders!

There should be 3 permission levels.  Read -  Read/Write  - Read/Write (without Delete)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

+1

 

Registered just to promote this feature.

 

Would really like all my photos copied to a hard disc in my brothers house, but do not want him to have the chance to delete my originals by mistakingly removing the remote copies.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now